How is was…


When I joined up things were very different… The backbone of the organisation was the response team known as the shift. Even a rural force like mine paraded 10 officers. Of those officers 2-were fast response drivers-area cars. They had duel responsibility to the local area control room and the force control room, so they were usually the shift’s most experienced officers.
We had at least 3-pandas…double manned…and we put out a couple of officers on foot too…
The area cars did the immediate jobs…the pandas did the routine jobs… Overseeing them were the shift sergeants… 2-per shift…they sorted paperwork, leave, discipline and postings. We also had a custody sarge and a controller-again a sergeant.
The inspector was in charge overall…

We had a CID department… A beat officer department…

We had canteens, a bar…we organised the scouts parade, Remembrance Sunday…we picked up some of the vets ourselves in our own cars sometimes.

We didn’t have DNA profiling… Computers were very different than the ones we have today…We didn’t have batons, CS, taser or armour but we were closer to our community…

Now I know that there are those that say its Rosy coloured glasses but one thing is clear: it worked…

My tutor told me that policing is a simple job…it’s society that complicates it…

When I see how this government is intent on destroying us I really makes me sad… I think the savagery of the assault has taken the Fed by surprise…and they seem to be doing an impression of a rabbit in headlights…deciding that the best way to deal with the incoming car is to stare it out…

The fed are having a conference soon to decide what to do…I wish them luck…but I suspect it’s too little too late…

2 responses to “How is was…

  1. Brief Encounter

    I dont think it is a simple job, it requires a number of skills to do it properly. The problem is that arguing against the idea of PCs needing 3 x A Levels or whatever (I would say a specific NVQ at least) suggests that anyone can do the job. If anyone can do it then the government will not want to pay a lot to get it done. I would like to see foundation level psychology.

Leave a Reply

