Xmas off…


Hurrah!

For about the fifth time in 21-years I have Xmas off and very welcome it is too.

I always feel a small pang of guilt though as I sit down to eat on the day… I remember well the drive into work (or drive home after nights) on Xmas morning…

The roads are eerily empty…

But… I learned very quickly that the ‘problem families’ don’t have days off.

Since EVERY day is a DAY OFF they tend to assault; fight; deal; steal; attack; accuse and abuse with the same vigour as they do on any other day…

The main difference is us…

There are only a VERY few of us on because of ”excessive overtime” …

Still…

 

6 responses to “Xmas off…

  1. Police overtime is as welcome a subject to Huddersfield residents as a synopsis of WW2 war crimes is to Teutonic visitors, shij. It remains just as sore a talking point with taxpayers who reported crimes our police chose to ignore. Until it became a discredited tactic itself, the W Yorks police response was largely limited to discrediting its most unforgiving critics. Prior to being eclipsed by tabloid and government campaigns, local critics stood firm to make a real impact on the image of police as service providers.

    On a happier and more personal note, I take the opportunity to wish you and your family a happy and peaceful Christmas. I have a busy fortnight ahead of me and I look forward to more cyberspace challenges in the New Year.

    All the best from your ambivalent chum,
    Melvin.

    • For once…I agree…

      Steal £30,000 in cash from a bank etc and you will attract the attention of the local MIU/CID with huge resources at hand…

      Steal £30,000 of family car and, like as not, you won’t get a visit from an officer.

      We send civvie-CSI out to examine the scene- but only if the theft is unsuccessful…

      As to seasons greetings…

      Thank you and I hope you continue to challenge authority in all of it’s forms…

      I do.

      Mind you I pay the price too… I am being transferred to a far away station because I challenged a bully…

      heh…

  2. I always found Boxing Day was ‘best'(?) for domestics – including the day a TV set being thrown through a window “because he wanted to watch ********** while I wanted to watch *************** so I made sure he couldn’t watch his programme”. Ah, happy days.
    Have a good Christmas and New Year Shujiro and keep the blog going.

  3. They have actually forced quite a few off my shift to work on christmas day due to the low takeup of places, i never mind volunteering for christmas day as prefer those with children to enjoy the day more than i ever would, the overtime comes in handy as well obviously ! Im wondering what delights ill see this year . Merry Christmas Shijuro 🙂

    • I don’t have my kids this year for xmas so, I volunteered to work a shift…

      My reply?

      “No thanks, we have our minimum manning quota…”

      I spoke to a couple of officers working on the day and they tell me there are lots off officers with families that would love a swap…

      But…

      Nobody can be bothered!

      Merry Christmas to you too…

Leave a Reply

