Lesson learnt…


I was lucky in Police training college.

We had a Sargent that was a stickler for the detail of law and a class that had a number of ‘clever Johnnies’ from civvie street-ergo, I learned a lot in those first 6-months or so…stEEP learning curve…

One afternoon we were to learn about the now obsolete offence of ‘Obtaining money by deception’. Just before lunch one of the other Sargent trainers came into class and told us about Michael. 

Michael was not a well child. He was born with a spinal deformation that was certain to kill him in a year or so. He managed to attend the first couple of years of school but had to stop due to the pain of movement and was being home tutored. The trainer explained Michael was the son of one of the civvie admin girls and that the trainers had formulated a plan to help. They would secretly collect as much money as they could, then buy a holiday voucher so Michael’s parents could take him away for a break.

Well… not a dry eye in the house. Hands were thrust deep into pockets and purses…and the trainer left, a little tearful himself…

Of course, when we returned to do our module on deception, he reappeared, returned our money-it was a deception. The point being that we are willing to believe etc..

The following day he came in again…this time to collect for a real cause… imagine his surprise when we sat there arms folded and stony faced-nobody gave a penny, we just didn’t believe him.

”Err… this is real…”, he protested.

”You picked a bad time to start collecting then didn’t you?”, said my mate…

He wasn’t happy…I suspect we weren’t the only ones learning that day…

6 responses to “Lesson learnt…

  1. A bit of shameless self-promotion! http://mark-mi-words.blogspot.com/2011/09/eu-madness.html
    Hope you don’t mind Shijuro.

  2. Oh Shijuro…

    Thanks for the laugh…

    I must admit to being a mite jealous of you having a blog… is it difficult to set up? I am not very technical I am afraid…

    The only worry I have is people saying bad things, you probably deal with worse every day -but I rarely see angry people… (unless you count the ex-wife)…

    I really wish I had a job like yours… I have an INCREDIBLY boring job… I bet you have a right laugh at some of the
    people that send you emails too…

    Thanks again mate…

    Keep up the good work…

    • Oh, thanks…

      It’s easy to set up a blog… just go to the WordPress site… the system talks you through it…

      (don’t worry about trolls… they are sad, weedy, wannabe wankers for the best part… I mean, if they had any, they wouldnt be using an anonymous message to ‘intimidate’ people… would they?)

  3. Nice story; he really didn’t think his timing through did he!

  4. “Fool me once – shame on you. Fool me twice – shame on me.”

Leave a Reply

