I would rather be in the RSPB…


Political party membership appears to be in terminal decline in the UK.

It was once a source of cultural identity and pride for millions of British people.
But at just over 1% of the population – low by European standards – party membership is fast becoming a minority pursuit.

There are more members of the Caravan Club, or the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, than of all Britain’s political parties put together.

There are many theories as to why this has happened.

The public have grown cynical and disillusioned with politicians.

No, you think?

With a catalogue of sleeze and corruption scandals that would have shut us down; a group of narcissists that could employ most of the world’s mental health teams; arrogance that makes Saddam Hussain look like Mr Ben (the cartoon) and moral credentials that Ivan the Terrible would have smiled at…

Is it any wonder?

One response to “I would rather be in the RSPB…

  1. “Is it any wonder?” You ask and of course the answer is a resounding no.

    From a personal perspective it is the constant media support for the popliticians reasons that voters, don’t, because they are lazy and can’t be bothered, that really winds me up.

    The reason I don’t vote is because for the past 20 years I haven’t seen anyone on the voters slip I thought worthy of my vote. All you have to do to achieve my vote is reflect my views, not the party’s and have an ounce of integrity. So that means no vote from me the next time either then, yes?

Leave a Reply

